36 Free Resources to Teach Art to Preschoolers

There are so many ways to teach art, and even the youngest kids can benefit from a good fine arts education.  Here, you will find 36 FREE resources to teach art to preschoolers.

36 Free Resources to Teach Art to Preschoolers from JennsRAQ.com

Art History
Art History for Kids Five and Under: Mark Rothko – http://www.two-daloo.com/art-history-toddlers-preschoolers-abstract-art/
Frans Hals, what’s that on his neck? – http://www.artsology.com/halscollars.php
Art History for Children: Impressionism – http://victoriarestrepo.com/2012/08/23/art-history-for-children-impressionism/
Seven Tips for a Successful Trip to the Art Museum with Kids – http://www.arthistorymom.com/art-appreciation/seven-tips-for-a-successful-trip-to-the-art-museum-with-kids/
Art History for Kids: Celebrating Grandparents – http://amomwithalessonplan.com/art-history-for-kids/
The ABCs of Art History for Kids: http://b-inspiredmama.com/art-history-for-kids/
Exploring the Great Artists: http://www.redtedart.com/2012/04/13/exploring-the-great-artists-30-art-projects-for-kids/

Book Suggestions

While these are linked to Amazon.com so you can see them, check your local library so you can utilize them for free 🙂 (affiliate links)

Camille and the Sunflowers (a book to introduce Van Gogh)
My Name is Georgia (this book tells the story of Georgia O’Keefe)
Quiet Time With Cassatt (book about Mary Cassat)
Touch the Art: Brush Mona Lisa’s Hair (featuring the work of the Renaissance)
A Child’s Book of Play in Art (a collection of more than seventy superb reproductions of some of the world’s greatest paintings)
For more, here are 21 Picture Books about Art: http://www.notimeforflashcards.com/2012/10/picture-books-about-art.html

Art Projects
Picasso Art Projects for Preschoolers – http://www.ehow.com/info_7914673_picasso-art-projects-preschoolers.html#page=4
Wayne Thiebaud lesson – http://www.thesweetersideofmommyhood.com/blog/art/2013/01/famous-artist-2-wayne-thiebaud/
Monet Craft for Kids – http://thecraftyclassroom.com/crafts/famous-artist-crafts-for-kids/monet-craft-for-kids/
Renoir Coloring Page – http://www.momes.net/Coloriages/Coloriages-de-peintres/Coloriages-de-peintures/Coloriage-Renoir-2
Macchia (Dale Chihuly) using coffee filters – http://artwithrmotta.blogspot.com/2010/09/can-you-say-chihuly.html
Art Appreciation and Visual Arts Theme Preschool Activities and Crafts: http://www.first-school.ws/theme/artapp.htm
Toddler and Preschooler Art Lessons: http://www.kinderart.com/artlessonsbygrade/toddlerpreschool.shtml
Pre-Kindergarten Fine Arts Curriculum: http://thefreckledhomeschooler.com/fine-arts-pk/
Preschool Arts & Crafts: http://www.education.com/activity/preschool/arts-and-crafts/
DLTK’s Crafts for Kids: http://www.dltk-kids.com/

Art Appreciation
Exploring Michelangelo with Preschoolers – http://rainydaymum.co.uk/exploring-michelangelo-with-preschoolers
Pablo Picasso Collage Technique – http://www.first-school.ws/activities/artapp/collage.htm
Paul Cezanne – http://gardenofpraise.com/art47.htm
Matisse’s Goldfish – https://practicalpages.wordpress.com/2012/09/15/matisses-goldfish/
How to Teach Art Appreciation to Preschoolers – http://www.livingandlearningathome.com/2013/10/how-i-teach-art-appreciatioin-to.html
Songs for Teaching Art Appreciation and Art Theory: http://www.songsforteaching.com/artappreciationsongs/
Explaining Art to Kids: http://www.nickjr.com/get-creative/art-education/what-is-art.html
Art History and Art Appreciation (lots of lesson plans): http://www.kinderart.com/arthistory/

Art Activities Using Digital Resources
A great online painting program that allows you to select a brush and color, and paint away. You can view the paintings of other visitors as well as e-mail your painting to others. – http://artpad.art.com/artpad/painter/
Kids Art Institute Chicago – http://www.artic.edu/aic/education/CC/
Video & Information about The Seated Scribe – http://www.louvre.fr/en/questions-enfants/seated-scribe + http://www.louvre.fr/en/oeuvre-notices/seated-scribe
Move your mouse around and create a Jackson Pollock-like painting. Click to change colors. – http://www.jacksonpollock.org/
Where you can drag and drop facial features to create a Picasso image. –  http://www.picassohead.com/

Whether you’re trying to teach art appreciation or fancy techniques, I hope you’ve enjoyed these 36 FREE resources to teach art to preschoolers.  Be sure to pin this post so you can come back to it later!

What is your favorite way to teach art to young children?

About Jenn L

Jenn lives in Fort Worth, Texas with her husband and 5 children. The family likes to eat healthy and try new recipes. Jenn homeschools all of the kids. She is heavily involved with local bloggers and is slightly addicted to social media.

Comments

  1. I hadn’t heard of a lot of these books! For art we do Home Art Studio and all the kids love it! I love the broad range of books you list and the fact that you can get them from the library! Thanks for sharing and linking up at Favorite things Friday! Hope to see you again this week!
    Rebecca from Hip Homeschooling recently posted…How to Teach an Auditory Learner: My Top Ten ResourcesMy Profile

  2. We LOVE art in our home! This is such a wonderful resource! Thanks for compiling it all together! (And when I can get my darn pinterest button to work…don’t ask…, I will most def. be pinning it!) lol! Thanks for sharing & for linking up to ‘Favorite Things Friday’ with Simply Rachel & Hip Homeschooling! =)
    Simply Rachel recently posted…The Alphabet HouseMy Profile